People Whose Shit I Want To Read Soon/Am Reading Now

Posted: 08/19/2010 in Uncategorized

WANT TO READ SOON:

Albert Camus: Absurdism, which I just stumbled on through Wikipedia last night, holds a lot of appeal for me as a paradigm because of how much it already agrees with my world view. I’m going to have to rewrite my interpretation of The Dark Knight to reflect Absurdism which works even better.

Jean Baudrillard: Bruce Sterling and others have been talking about how critical his work is to understanding and critiquing atemporality and network culture in general, and the little I know about him seems to support that idea. I’m thinking that it’ll make me a lot more astute in general.

Angela Carter: When her name was brought to my attention, I realized that it was her territory that I’ve been tripping and stumbling towards trying to reproduce since I first read Women in the Refrigerator. I have the feeling I’m going to devour her work and become a giant unrepentant fangirl. What I wouldn’t do to have run across her at age twelve. Realistically speaking though, I’m pretty lucky to have dragged myself awake at age 25. A lot of people in my position come to it much later in life.

Dennis Lehane: Not only were the screen adaptations of Shutter Island and Mystic River superlative, but he also did some brilliant work on The Wire, which is the greatest TV show in history. I’ve recently decided I want to see what his prose looks like in the flesh, especially to investigate a suspicion I have about what the point of Shutter Island really is. (Given how grounded and realistic his other storytelling is, Shutter Island seemed to me to be a critique of the “Locked Room” mystery first and anything else second.)

Sigmund Freud: Love him or hate him, he is one of the most influential thinkers in human history. So there’s that and the fact that Viggo Mortensen is playing him in David Cronenberg’s next movie about him and Jung called A Dangerous Method. It’s going to be amazing.

PEOPLE WHOSE SHIT I’M READING/THINKING ABOUT A LOT

Stieg Larsson: I just finished The Girl Who Played With Fire a couple hours ago. Mind you I’ve seen all three films. At first I wasn’t too sure how much I needed/wanted to read the books but I picked up the first one shortly after watching The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest. I wasn’t much more in love with the first novel than it’s corresponding film, but jesusfuck. I already thought that the trilogy, based on the films alone, was incredibly important and volatile. Then I read The Girl Who Played With Fire which is just fucking incredible. I already loved Larsson for tackling institutionalized misogyny and sex crimes the way he did and how he portrayed Lisbeth as a survivor, but TGWPWF made me tear up a few times at the injustice of the fact that the man who took the world by storm and has literally outsold everyone on the digital platform and was the #2 bestselling author in the world in 2008 (and most likely poised to be #1 in 2010 as the trilogy hits theaters in North America never lived to see it. I’m dumbstruck that such an incendiary book that feels written for me and me alone is a worldwide phenomenon. It makes me proud to be alive in these times.

Germaine Greer The guy at the used book store I always go to said I was pretty lucky to catch a copy of The Female Eunuch, but then I seem to have fucking incredible luck there. It’s another one of those things I wish I’d run across early in life. It’s not a huge deal to me directly reading it right now because I’ve fed off and been educated by so much more contemporary feminist writings that it mostly echoes what I know and feel, but it’s also incredibly vital to see how the movement and the world around it both have and have not changed since it’s original publication.

Leave a Reply

